Senin, 17 September 2012

key signature

(circle 5th/4th)    

if we play music , we will find about key signature, direction about sharps (#) and flats (b) to be use is called key signature. and we must remember piece of music is based on the notes of the scale of C major does not mean the it is restricted to eight notes, but the eight notes of the basic scale can be used at any pitch, one or more octaves higher or lower. example we play on G major, so F major become F# . it is not necessary to write in the sharps or flats every time they are needed.

C   = 0  
G   = #1 (F)
D   = #2 (F,C)
A   = #3 (F,C,G)
E   = #4  (F,C,G,D)
B   = #5  (F,C,G,D,A)
F# = #6  (F,C,G,D,A,E)

F   = b1 (B)
Bb = b2 (B,E)
Eb = b3 (B,E,A)
Ab = b4 (B,E,A,D)
Db = b5 (B,E,A,D,G)
Gb = b6 (B,E,A,D,G,C)

by Puguh kribo



Rabu, 05 September 2012

advance lessons


MODES are like different colors of scale, because modes have unique sound, and for example C major scale, if we use C as the tonic, the ionian mode is the result. so easy. the second scale degree from C major scale is D dorian, D dorian built from the second degree of the major scale.


  1. IONIAN = Major scale
  2. DORIAN = 2nd degree of major scale
  3. PHRYGIAN = 3rd degree of major scale
  4. LYDIAN = 4th degree of major scale
  5. MIXOLYDIAN = 5th degree of major scale
  6. AEOLIAN = 6th degree of major scale
  7. LOCRIAN = 7th degree of major scale

intermediate lessons

Names of scale degrees :
Each degree of major and minor scale (1st,2nd,3rd, 4th etc) its position in the scale, the important note is naturally the one on which the scale based.

  1. Tonic (the 1st degree)
  2. supertonic(2nd)
  3. Mediant (3rd)
  4. subdominant(4th)
  5. dominant (5th)
  6. submediant (6th)
  7. leading note (7th)
  8. tonic (8th)
for example :4th degree is called the subdominant

scales types

my guitar lesson, scales can be classified into many categories or type :
  1. harmonic system, these scale produce their own distinct modes and chord structures, with their own unique sounds
  2. symmetrical system, these scale have a limited number of transpotions and are contructed from a repeating interval or interval combination 
  3. Hybrid system, like combination scale and may contain elements of multiple scales, or more passing 
  4. Pentatonic system, five note scale formated by stacking consecutive ascending 5th and then structured in alpabetical order
  5. exotic system, any scale that is derived from a non western tradition can be considered exotic